Awards & Honors (Autumn 19 / Winter 20)

Each year, our students, faculty, and staff win regional, national, and international awards. Please join us in congratulating this year’s group of award winners!


Degree track and faculty advisers in parentheses

In fall 2019, Eileen Bates (MS, Padilla-Gamiño) won two awards: Best Student Presentation at the Pacific Coast Shellfish Grower’s Association Conference and Tradeshow in Portland, Oregon, and Honorable Mention for her presentation in Applied Ecology/Conservation Biology at the annual meeting of the Western Society of Naturalists in Ensenada, Mexico.

Maia Kapur

Maia Sosa Kapur (PhD, Punt) received a Population Dynamics Fellowship from NMFS-Sea Grant. In 2019, she also won two travel awards: a Wood’s Hole Travel Grant to the ICES Annual Science Meeting in Gothenburg, Sweden, and a Diversity Travel Scholarship to the RStudio Conference in San Francisco.

Katie McElroy (PhD, Hilborn, and Quinn) received the College of the Environment’s Outstanding Commitment to Diversity Award in May 2018.

Congratulations to Kylie Sahota (BS), who received the Dani Elenga Environment Scholarship from the College of the Environment in April 2019.

Faculty and Postdoctoral Researchers

Sarah Converse

Sarah Converse was awarded the Distinguished Service Award from the Department of the Interior, which is the Department’s highest honorary recognition.

Kiva Oken received the best oral presentation award at the scientific sessions and workshops sponsored by the Human Dimensions Committee at the 2019 PICES meeting for her talk, A bioeconomic simulation for understanding the roles of synchrony and permit access in driving revenue stability on the U.S. West Coast.

Julia Parrish received the Pacific Seabird Group Lifetime Achievement Award for her many contributions to research and conservation of seabirds throughout the eastern Pacific. Julia was also elected to the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Daniel Schindler

Daniel Schindler received the G. Evelyn Hutchinson Award from the Association for the Sciences of Limnology and Oceanography. The award honors a limnologist or oceanographer who has made considerable contributions to knowledge and whose future work promises a continued legacy of scientific excellence.

Chelsea Wood gave the Rising Star in Ecology Lecture at the University of Toronto Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology.

Jacqueline Padilla-Gamiño received the 2020 Sloan Research Fellowship. Candidates are nominated by their peers, and fellows are selected by independent panels of senior scholars based on each candidate’s research accomplishments, creativity and potential to become a leader in their field.


Two staff members were recognized in 2019 for their outstanding contributions to SAFS:

Lisa Cantore for the excellent support she provides to SAFS faculty and staff during the grant submission process. She is proactive, gives clear guidance, and has incredible institutional knowledge.

Katie Leslie

Katie Leslie for going above and beyond to accommodate all the new projects, students, postdocs, and undergrads in the Wood lab and for her wealth of knowledge on all things parasite.

Back to Top