Awards & Honors (Autumn 20 / Winter 21)

Each year, our students, faculty, and staff win regional, national, and international awards. Please join us in congratulating this year’s group of award winners!


Degree track and faculty advisers in parenthesis 

Caitlin Allen Akselrud (PhD, Branch & Punt) and George Whitehouse (PhD, Essington) won an Editor’s Choice award from the ICES Journal of Marine Science for their paper, “The trade-off between biodiversity and sustainable fish harvest with area-based management.”

Natalie Lowell (PhD, Hauser) received the Best Poster Award at the 2020 National Shellfish Association meeting.

Amanda Warlick (PhD, Converse) was the runner-up for the Best Student Presentation Award at the International Statistical Ecology Conference. Amanda also netted the Pauley Award for the Best Student Presentation at the 2020 Washington Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Research Unit Student Symposium.

Faculty and postdoctoral Researchers

Staci Amburgey is the inaugural recipient of the SAFS Diversity, Equity, Inclusion and Justice (DEIJ) and Community Service Recognition Award.

Julian Olden was elected as a Fellow of the American Fisheries Society. Julian was also recognized on the 2020 Highly Cited Researchers list (top 1% by citations by field and year) by Clarivate.


Back to Top