Awards & Honors (Spring / Summer 2020)

Each year, our students, faculty, and staff win regional, national, and international awards. Please join us in congratulating this year’s group of award winners!


Degree track and faculty advisers in parenthesis 

Elieen Bates (MS, Padilla-Gamiño) obtained a Northwest Climate Adaptation Science Center Fellowship from the Department of the Interior, a Sea of Change/Aggressor Adventures Research Award from the Women Divers Hall of Fame, a Pacific Northwest Shell Club Scholarship Award, and a North Pacific Research Board Graduate Student Research Award.

Andrew Chin (BS) was the College of the Environment Undergraduate Dean’s Medalist.

Grace Crandall (MS, Roberts) won the Best MS Student Presentation at the 2020 Alaska Marine Science Symposium for her presentation ’Effects of Bitter Crab Disease on the Gene Expression of Alaskan Tanner Crabs’.

Helena McMonagle

Jessica Diallo (MS, Olden) and Helena McMonagle (MS, Essington/Hilborn) received National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowships

Amelia DuVall (MS, Converse) obtained a College of the Environment Integral Big Data Research Fund Award.

Sara Faiad (PhD, Wood) netted the Graduate School Boeing International Fellowship, a Foundry10 Marine Science research grant, and a Women Divers Hall of Fame Dive Training Grant.

Rachel Fricke

Rachel Fricke (MS, Olden), Markus Min (MS, Scheuerell), and Andrew Oppliger (MS, Olden) received College of the Environment Top-Off Awards

Jessica Hale (PhD, Laidre) received a Cooperative Institute for Climate, Ocean, and Ecosystem Studies Graduate Research Fellowship.

Natalie Lowell (PhD, Hauser) received the College of the Environment Outstanding Commitment to Diversity award.

Samual May (PhD, Naish) netted a Hall Conservation Genetics Research Award and a NMFS-Sea Grant Joint Fellowship in Population and Ecosystem Dynamics.

Kylie Sahota (BS), Kyla Bivens (BS), Calder Atta (MS, Tornabene), and Catherine Austin (PhD, Quinn) were given SAFS Faculty Merit Awards for 2020. This award recognizes outstanding efforts by students who have achieved high scholastic standing in the program.

Mark Sorel (MS, Converse) obtained a Northwest Climate Adaptation Science Center Fellowship.

Kimberly Yazzie (PhD, Schindler) won a Ford Foundation Dissertation Fellowship from The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine.


Faculty and postdoctoral Researchers

Luke Tornabene obtained the College of the Environment Exceptional Mentoring of Undergraduate Award, which recognizes significant contributions to the development of undergraduate student research and the intellectual vibrancy of the College

Jaqueline Padilla-Gamiño was an award winner at the Latinx Faculty Recognition event. Jackie was also selected as a 2020 Sloan Research Fellow.

Chelsea Wood was a runner-up for the US APEC Science Prize for Innovation, Research, and Education.


Back to Top