LAST CALL – Nominations for the AIFRB W.F. Thompson Best Student Paper Award

Dear SAFS faculty, students, grads, and post-docs: SAFS people frequently win this award (see below) because (let’s face it) – we are the BEST. Not mentioned below – but the cash prize ($1,000) can be used for something fun. Go for it.

LAST CALL – Nominations for the AIFRB W.F. Thompson Best Student Paper Award

W.F. Thompson Award for Best Student Paper Published in 2011

Nominations are open for the W.F. Thompson Award, which will be given by the American Institute of Fishery Research Biologists (AIFRB) to recognize the best student
paper in fisheries science published during 2011. The award will consist of a check for $1000, a certificate, and a one-year membership in AIFRB at an appropriate level.
The requirements for eligibility are as follows:

(1) the paper must be based on research performed while the student was a candidate for a Bachelor’s, Master’s, or Ph.D. degree at a college or university in the Western
(2) the results of the research must have been submitted to the recognized scientific journal in which it was eventually published, or to the editor of the book in which
it was eventually published, within three (3) years of termination of student status;
(3) papers that are considered for the award must be concerned with freshwater or marine biological resources;
(4) the paper must be in English; and
(5) the student must be the senior author of the paper.

Nominations may be submitted by professors or other mentors, associates of the students, or by the students themselves. The deadline for receipt of nominations is
January 31, 2013. The nominations should be sent to the Chairman of the W.F. Thompson Award Committee, Dr. Frank M. Panek, USGS-Leetown Science Center, 11649 Leetown
Rd, Kearneysville, WV 25430 (email: fpanek).

Each nomination must be accompanied by a copy of the paper (unless it is easily available on the internet) and a résumé. The papers will be judged, by knowledgeable
subject matter reviewers selected by the Chairman and members of the Committee on the basis of contribution to fisheries science, originality, an presentation.

Back to Top